Help

Re: Refresh Airtable for NOW() to Update?

3271 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bitgiggy
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi everyone

I’m new to Airtable but loving it so far.

I’ve set up an automation to send a tweet at a scheduled date and time using the following formula I picked up from another post here.

IF(NOW()>{Posting Date},1,0)

Essentially, if the result of NOW() is later than my scheduled posting date/time, the automation will happen.

Do I need to refresh my Airtable for NOW() to update like I would in Excel?

I had set up a scheduled Tweet, but I noticed it hadn’t posted, but it did immediately once I went back into the Airtable base.

Thanks all!

18 Replies 18

NOW does not update continuously. According to the formula field reference

This function updates when the formula is recalculated, when a base is loaded, or otherwise roughly every 15 minutes when a base is open. If the base is closed, it will update approximately every hour only when the base has time-dependent automation triggers or actions, or sync dependencies.

@bitgiggy

Airtable has now added scheduling into Automations, and I would highly recommend completely rebuilding your Automation from scratch using this new scheduling feature.

Their new scheduling feature is “mostly” reliable & consistent (97% reliable), but unfortunately, their NOW() function is very unreliable & inconsistent.

Even though their support article mentions this NOW() inconsistency, my real-world experiences have been significantly worse than what they outline:

When I use the NOW() function, it often doesn’t refresh for 75 minutes or longer when the base is closed, and it often completely skips over days altogether, meaning that it often doesn’t refresh for 48 hours.

So for the most reliability that you can get out of Airtable natively, I would rebuild with the scheduling trigger.