2741 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dave_Sheppard
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi - I think I need a scripting app to solve my problem, but I’m new to Airtable scripting and so am reaching out for help.

I have a table that I’m populating every day, but I want a 2nd grid/view with only the latest record showing. So I wanted to use a ‘latestrecord’ checkbox column, and use a script that would fire on a create record trigger to basically reset the checkbox on every row, and then only set it for that latest record that was just inserted.

My 2nd view would be filtered on this checkbox - which would then be used in a combination of charts (on all content) and summary apps (just on the latest record) in a dashboard.

I’m struggling with the scripting syntax, and so just felt it would be easier to stand on the shoulders of giants, and ask the community!

Many thanks in advance,
Dave.

Note: I’m struggling with even reset all the checkboxes - the following code runs but just doesn’t seem to work (resetting/clearing all of the ‘LatestRecord?’ checkbox columns to be blank/unchecked…

let SSITable = base.getTable(“SSI Tracker”);
let SSITableRecords = await SSITable.selectRecordsAsync();
for (let SSIrecord of SSITableRecords.records)
{SSITable.updateRecordsAsync(SSIrecord, {“Latest Record?”: false})
};

I’d then need a script to locate the latest row and then set it’s Latest Record checkbox to true/checked.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Dominik_Bosnjak
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

It’s not often that a new user posts here asking for help in such a pleasantly verbose manner.

And the few that do tend to be at least knee-deep in the need-work-for-hire category, knowingly or not.

But you, @Dave_Sheppard? You’re as unicorny as Airtable itself.

So here, welcome to the community:

Click for welcomeness
// statement 1
let table = base.getTable('Table 1'),

q = await table.selectRecordsAsync(
        {