Help

Re: Formula Help! How do I edit some numbers and parentheses out of text?

949 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dennis_Petrou
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hello, I’m kinda new to this and hopefully someone can help me figure out a formula to help me with this. My data in one column consists of a number, a name, and some extra information in parentheses. I would like to extract just the name into a new column. Here are some examples:

1234 This Is What I Want To Keep (not this)
555 Keep This Text (get rid of this and the number)

Is this possible?

Thanks so much

8 Replies 8

Assuming your data is always [numbers] [space] [name] [stuff in parenthesis], create a formula field with this formula:

TRIM(
   MID(
      {field name}, 
      FIND(" ", {field name}), 
      MAX(FIND("(", {field name}) - FIND(" ", {field name}), LEN({field name}))
   )
)

^ In plain English, that formula says “Pick out the text inbetween the first space and the first parenthesis, then remove any whitepsace at the front and end”

Another option is to use regular expressions.

REGEX_REPLACE({field name}, "(\\d* )([\\w ]+)( \\(.*\\))", "$2")

In English, the formula says to look for three groups of text in a row:

1. a series of digits followed by a space
  2. a series of “word” characters and spaces
  3. a space followed by an opening parenthesis, followed by any text, followed by a closing parenthesis.

Then, replace all of that text with just the second group of text.

You can expand this formula to add some error checking to display the result only if there actually is text, and to display an error if the text doesn’t match the pattern.

IF(
  {field name},
  IF(
    REGEX_MATCH({field name}, "^(\\d* )([\\w ]+)( \\(.*\\))$"),
    REGEX_REPLACE({field name}, "^(\\d* )([\\w ]+)( \\(.*\\))$", "$2"),
    "⚠️Text does not follow pattern"
  )
) 

Thank you so much! I can’t wait to try this out!

Thanks very much, I will try this as well!