1541 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
TF_UNOC
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Good afternoon, I am very new to Airtable.

You will realize it, if you read my post ! :slightly_smiling_face:

I have a table with the dates and times of arrivals and departures of guests at the airport.

I want to know the number of days I will have to allocate the cars that will transport them.

The cars are rented on a full day basis.

I am trying to calculate the number of days for the cars, taking into consideration the dates of arrivals and departures of the guests.

I am using the formula DATETIME_DIFF({Date departure},{Date arrival},‘d’)+1

The formula is returning the result taking also into account the time of the day of the arrival and departure, and I really want only the full day.

I believe that the solution is very simple, but someone can help.

For example, one guest arrives on 26/06 at 11:00am and departs on 02/07 at 09:00am. the result that I’m trying to obtain is 7 days, and not 6 days

Many thanks in advance…

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Welcome to the Airtable community!

To ensure that the time does not influence the calculation you can use a combination of DATETIME_PARSE and DATETIME_FORMAT
Try this formula:

IF(
  AND({Date departure}, {Date arrival}),
  DATETIME_DIFF(
    DATETIME_PARSE(
      DATETIME_FORMAT({Date arrival}, "YYYY-MM-DD"),
      "YYYY-MM-DD"
    ),
    DATETIME_PARSE(
      DATETIME_FORMAT({Date departure}, "YYYY-MM-DD"),
      "YYYY-MM-DD"
    ),
    'days'
  ) + 1
)

Note that you might still have issues due to timezones. In this case, I recommend using SET_TIMEZONE

IF(
  DATETIME_DIFF(
    DATETIME_PARSE(
      DATETIME_FORMAT(
          SET_TIMEZONE({Date arrival}, "Europe/Lisbon"), 
          "YYYY-MM-DD"
      ),
      "YYYY-MM-DD"
    ),
    DATETIME_PARSE(
      DATETIME_FORMAT(
          SET_TIMEZONE({Date departure}, "Europe/Lisbon"), 
          "YYYY-MM-DD"
      ),
      "YYYY-MM-DD"
    ),