cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FelicianU
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello, 

I'm fairly new to the paid version of Airtable and I've been able to figure out most of the features and automations I need. I'm specifically wondering (especially with the updates that have come out) if there's a way to validate entries and form conditions. 

Example: students input their e-mail address in a form. If it does not meet the condition of having their .edu e-mail address, there's no way to reset the form or put an error message up. I have tried putting a conditional field that it must include the .edu student address portion, and I made it a "check box" format with an error message. Students do not seem to read this and submit the form with incorrect data or the form not even being filled out. Is there a way to not allow the submission if certain things are incorrect?

Also with attachments, is there a way to condition that attachment to only accept certain types of files? 

Thank you!

5 Replies 5

> Is there a way to not allow the submission if certain things are incorrect?
I'm afraid not

>Also with attachments, is there a way to condition that attachment to only accept certain types of files? 
I'm afraid not

>I have tried putting a conditional field that it must include the .edu student address portion, and I made it a "check box" format with an error message. Students do not seem to read this and submit the form with incorrect data or the form not even being filled out.

I sighed involuntarily reading this; I feel your pain and I hope you manage to get this fixed soon so that you never have to deal with this again

You might want to look into another form service that has field validation (Jotform has it I believe) or the like and integrate it into Airtable

Thanks for the reply! Interesting that a platform such as this does not have those features.