Help

Re: Get external data via an Airtable formula?

3162 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Michel_Billiau
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi,
I’m new to Airtable programming, so I apologize if this is obvious for the most of you…
Is it possible to directly retrieve external data from another website (through their API) ?
I’m working on a personal movie db, and it would be nice, that if I give in a column the unique IMDB id, it will get me the IMDB rating automatically in another column ?
If not possible via Formula, how should I proceed ?
Thx for any helpfull reply

14 Replies 14

Where is the link to the step-by-step video?

Worked well with you solution. Thank you.

Im using OMDB based on your instruction to grab a lot of metadata from IMDB id (for ex: rating from tt3896198)

Another guide is grabbing image attachment instead of URL can be found here by user SDOK_Blog

Wayne_Simpson
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

@W_Vann_Hall - thanks for this, I managed to create a flow whereby I complete a task (in this case a movie) on Todoist and the flow populates Airtable with the movie details and my comments on it and in one click, the Airtable creates a nice page with everything on it! Great!

I do have one issue however, and that is I have to change the title on Todist to just the movie name, as opposed to a link for it to work. What I’d like to do is get Integromat to pull out the title from some code. So for example, the code is: The Courier, I just want to extract “The Courier”, I can not for the life of me figure it out! Can anyone provide any advice?

Beau_Boeye
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

This has been a great thread thus far. I followed the steps above to get something similar going for a volunteer-operated theatre’s website.

You can alter the Zapier zap slightly by creating a button within Airtable to trigger the zap. This worked much better for my situation.