Help

How to deal with migrating development changes to production base?

Topic Labels: Admin
Solved
Jump to Solution
712 6
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
0800-grizzly
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi,

I'm approaching launch for my first Airtable application, a support/ERP/CRM system for my wife's business (two users currently planned). Is there an agreed upon best practise how to launch a production version but yet be able to continue developing the application?

I have little real experience in application management, although I have managed some LAMP applications with SQL updates and diffing PHP. 

I thought I would keep the current base as PROD, make a back-up of it and assign that a DEV role and continue developing new stuff there. But how to migrate changes from DEV to PROD?

Rgds,

Björn

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kuovonne
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Airtable currently does not have a method for migrating changes from a DEV environment to a PROD environment. 

- Do not try to keep a DEV base in parallel with PROD. People tend to build things in PROD like filtered views, even if they are not creators. It is also really tempting to make really small changes directly in PROD. Both of these things make it really easy for your DEV base and PROD base to get out of sync. Instead, when you want to make significant changes, duplicate your PROD base to a DEV workspace and test out our changes there before manually migrating change to PROD.

- When writing scripts, use field and table names instead of IDs. Different bases will have different IDs. Avoid hardcoding any type of Airtable ID in a script, if possible.

- When writing formulas that build URLs using share links, keep careful track of where the formula points to for each base. It is too easy to end up with a formula field in the duplicate base that points to a URL for the original base.