3442 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ron_Daniel
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

I’m a total newbie to JavaScript, and pretty proud of myself that I’ve figured out how to connect to my company’s API to get store information.

console.log(await storeInfo.json());
is displaying all of the JSON returned from the API call, but now how do I get that data out of the JSON?

Example:

CONSOLE.LOG

1. :arrow_forward: (1) [Object]
  2. :arrow_forward: 0: Object
    1. StoreNumber: “1234”
    2. StoreName: “Joe’s Market”
    3. :arrow_forward: StorePhoneNumbers: Array(2)
    1. :arrow_forward: 0: Object
    2. Description: “Fax”
    3. PhoneNumber: “800-555-1212”
    4. :arrow_forward: 1: Object
    5. Description: “Landline”
    6. PhoneNumber: “800-555-2121”

How can I pull the store name and phone numbers out into individual variables that I can do stuff with?

10 Replies 10

In JS, in general, you work with objects and arrays. It’s not so easy to understand, but as soon as you do, you will understand JS ))
I’m not a pro developer, but sometimes it’s easier to explain by simple words.

Object is a data type, which have one or many ‘key:value’ pairs
in your example it’s “storenumber” : “1234”, “storename” : “joe’s market”
Value can be string, number (btw, “1234” is a string in your case), Object or Array

Array is a “box” of some values (strings, numbers or Objects or Arrays), usually similar type.

The same format Airtable uses for tables, fields etc info

paste that in new scripting window, put any of your table name, run and hope it will add some understanding ))

const mytable=base.getTable('PUT YOUR TABLE NAME HERE')
output.inspect(mytable)
output.text(mytable.name)
const c=mytable.id 
output.text(c)
const flds=mytable.fields // Fields is array of Field objects
flds.forEach(f=>{output.text(f.name);
    output.inspect(f) })   

output.text('Lets iterate object key-value pairs')
const d=Object.entries(flds[0])
output.inspect(d)