cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bryan_Delmee
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi guys!

I’m quite new to airtable and have no experience in writing strings. I have read the syntax page, but could not find out what i should do to get the desired outcome.

I have a column with the name “Referral URL” In this column, urls will be entered trough zapier when a user submits his/her credentials. Something like this: “www.test123.nl/test-ebook-landingspage/?ref=xd3r4n”

I have another column next to the “Referral URL” column which is called “Referral Code”.

What i would like to do is, eliminate everything before “=” and place only the “xd3r4n” in the cells of the “Referral Code” > This should be automated en run everytime someones signs up

Is there someone who has experience with this?

Looking forward hearing from you guys!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

With that in mind, I suggest looking into views:

Views are designed specifically when you want multiple ways of looking at—and possibly sharing—the same data. Rather than duplicating the data itself, you just make a new view that only shows you want you want to see in a given context. In this case, you could have an “Internal” view that shows all the fields you want for the internal leaderboard, and an “External” view with fewer fields visible that you can embed on your website.

See Solution in Thread

8 Replies 8

Welcome to the community, @Bryan_Delmee! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: There are a couple of ways to go about this. One is to use a combination of the FIND() and MID() functions to locate that equals sign in the URL, then grab all of the characters after it. The FIND() part would look like this:

FIND("=", {Referral URL})

That will give you a number representing the character position of the equals sign in the string.