Help

This Product Ideas board is currently undergoing updates, but please continue to submit your ideas.

Restricting view to sensitive columns

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Judy_Dale
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am new to AirTable, and I LOVE it so far. I need the ability to set a junior staffer’s viewing/editing permission to see and edit some of the columns but not certain sensitive ones.
Is there a help topic I can read on this?
Or do I need to create a new related table or base for her which links to mine but I’ve taken out some columns?
thanks in advance.

9 Comments
Vaclav_Varilek
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, im also looking for a way to restrict access to some sensitive columns for specific users. We’re started using airtable as our main online database for our product.
Because there is GDPR directive by European union on the way, all of us must focus on security of personal records about all clients, freelancers or our employees… Right now we have columns with name, recipe and amount of money - together could be used for identification = personal records and we must manage them very carefully(restrict access for some of our employees).
This GDPR directive means that all companies must hide data (that could be used for personal identifications) for users they don’t need them for work. Or delete (anonymize) them if subject asks. And because payments and names are sensitive data id they are together in 1 table for analytics, we must anonymize or hide them because they are personal record…

Vaclav_Varilek
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Another problem is about our employees, vacations, tracked toggl times and hour pool of them. In this case I’m able to create for each employee specific view with datas related only to him. So there is hidden fields which are about others. And it’s OK for GDPR.

Julian_Kirkness
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury