Help

Re: Creating Checklists with Airtable and Zapier

1910 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

While answering a question on the forum about Checklists, I decided I would write a blog post about how to use Zapier to automatically create Checklists, assign them to a project and then to a collaborator…

Creating Checklists with Airtable and Zapier

and here’s a link to the base:

I hope you find this useful!!

16 Replies 16
Philip_Bassham
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Maybe I missed something, but I don’t see in the zap where the new tasks are created.

Hi @Philip_Bassham

Thank you for pointing that out - the final section of the process was missing - no idea how!

I’ve updated the page and it should be there now!

Julian

Thanks! I really appreciate it. I am pretty new to Airtable and have been trying for weeks to figure out a good way to get something working to manage recurring workflows and projects! So, this is great! Haven’t really heavily tested it, of course, but I have high hopes. Really appreciate you writing it out!

One other question. At the end you say

There is a limitation in this - Zapier will only Loop around 25 records in an array like this and so if there are more than this number it could fail. However, there is a way around this - and it just adds one more code step to the Zap.

What is that other code step?

Hi @Philip_Bassham

The solution to this is to write a code step in Zapier which splits the incoming string of comma separated variables into blocks of 24 and then to return these in an array of objects. This causes the following steps (starting withe the routing which creates an array of objects with a single record id in each) to run for each group of records. So if you split the original incoming data into 24 such blocks and each of these has 24 individual records then the subsequent processes will run for 24 x 24 = 576 records. Here is a sample of suitable code in Javascript: