Product update: improvements to base sharing

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sophie_Airtable
Airtable Employee
Airtable Employee

TL;DR: We’ve improved our sharing flow to make it easier for you to share bases and views with teammates.

Hello everyone! My name is Sophie, and I’m a product manager at Airtable focused on helping users sign up and invite their teammates to join Airtable.

After looking at our usage data and talking with users, we learned that our base sharing flow was complex and that many people struggled to invite their teammates. The UI was crowded, and users had a hard time understanding what their sharing options were and where they should start.

To solve this, we streamlined the base sharing UI while maintaining how everything works so that your sharing options are crystal clear, but you still have all the functionality you need! You can now invite a user to the workspace, base, or a view all within the same dialog.

Screen Shot 2022-02-17 at 1.39.24 PM

These updates are now available to anyone who isn’t on an enterprise plan, and will be available for all enterprise customers by the end of the month.

If you’ve got feedback, you can fill out this form—we’d love to hear from you!

Thanks!

Sophie

10 Comments
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

At first glance, this looks great! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes:

Andrew_Davies19
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Nice update

I share read only links a lot. What I often find is I have to share 3 or 4 different view links with people to give them different insights into my data.

I’d like to be able to share one read only link to the entire base - and to be able to hide views and tables that are not relevant. sharing the whole base just confuses users as they can see working views / junction tables etc that they don’t need to see.

Hoping I’ve missed a feature but don’t think I have!

Andrew_Davies19