Help

Save the date! Join us on October 16 for our Product Ops launch event. Register here.

Repeating Group Automation Sends Multiple Emails

Topic Labels: Automations
2029 4
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
S-C-THM
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi all,

I am new to Airtable, and I am trying to set up an automation where an email will be sent to a project lead if there are 7 days left to complete a project and the project status is incomplete. I followed the instructions in the following Airtable article: https://support.airtable.com/docs/repeating-groups-of-automation-actions?_gl=1*1qbpd8o*_gcl_au*NzgwM...

I have the automation set up as follows:

Trigger:

When a record matches conditions: = 7 days to complete AND = Planning/In progress/Delayed status

Actions:

Find records: based on conditions where project lead is not empty

Repeat for each in List of records

Send an email: to Project lead

The trouble I am having is that the automation works in finding project leads and approaching deadlines, but the automation sends multiple copies of the same email to project leads. Is there a setting that I should have on/off that will prevent the automation from sending redundant copies of the same email to project leads?

Thank you in advance for your help!

4 Replies 4

Hmm, assuming each "Student" record is a single project, then you wouldn't need the repeating group I think.  You could just set it up so that the email gets sent per triggering project

I feel like I'm missing something though.  Can multiple be students be part of a single project, and so that project lead should only get one email instead of one email per project or something?  Could you provide some screenshots of how your tables are set up? 

Hi,

Thank you for your reply. I appreciate your help!