Help

Unable to delete 10 records at a time. Can anyone solve this problem?

Solved
Jump to Solution
1504 6
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
danielmohuriya
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I have a script that runs in google apps script and deletes all the records in a airtable table one by one, since I am new to coding and don't know how to code can anyone help me to modify the script to delete the records in batches of 10. I used chat-gpt to generate the script.
The script that deletes airtable records is:

function deleteRecordsInBatches() {
  var airtableApiKey = "API_KEY/ACCESS_TOKEN"; //Paste your apiKey or accessToken here
  var baseId = "BASE_ID"; //Paste your baseId here
  var tableName = "tab3"; //Paste your tableName

// Number of records to delete in each batch
  var batchSize = 10;

var tableUrl = "https://api.airtable.com/v0/" + baseId + "/" + tableName;
  var headers = {
    "Authorization": "Bearer " + airtableApiKey,
    "Content-Type": "application/json"
  };

// Fetch the initial set of records
  var recordsToDelete = fetchRecords(tableUrl, headers);

while (recordsToDelete.length > 0) {
    var batchRecords = recordsToDelete.splice(0, batchSize);

// Delete records in the current batch
    deleteBatchRecords(batchRecords, tableUrl, headers);

// Sleep for 1 second to avoid rate limit
    Utilities.sleep(0);

// Fetch the next set of records
    recordsToDelete = fetchRecords(tableUrl, headers);
  }
}

function fetchRecords(tableUrl, headers) {
  var options = {
    "method": "GET",
    "headers": headers,
    "muteHttpExceptions": true
  };

var response = UrlFetchApp.fetch(tableUrl, options);
  var result = JSON.parse(response.getContentText());

return result.records;
}

function deleteBatchRecords(records, tableUrl, headers) {
  var options = {
    "method": "DELETE",
  };

records.forEach(function(record) {
    var recordUrl = tableUrl + "/" + record.id;
    UrlFetchApp.fetch(recordUrl, options);
  });
}

1 Solution