699 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sorapool
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello. I'm brand new to airtable. Less than 2 days. I'm struggling a lot. I have a table with basic member info in it (member id, first name, last name, email, etc).  Now, I want to create a form, let's call it "sign up for party". I want the results of this form to populate another table, but be linked to the data in the main members table.

When I create a linked field in the form, it shows EVERYONE in the table!! That's a huge security issue!! I want people to enter their member id into the form and have that id validated that it exists on form submit. When they submit, the record should be created in the new 'signups' table, linked to the main table.

how do I accomplish this? This seems fairly simple/common, yet I've spent 8hrs trying to figure it out.

4 Replies 4
dilipborad
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

Airtable + Website Builders for User Signup/Login

Airtable itself doesn't handle user signups and logins like a traditional website. However, you can achieve this by combining Airtable with website builders:

How it works:

• Airtable as your database: Airtable stores your member information (usernames, emails, passwords, etc.).
  • Website builder as the front-end: Softr, Webflow, or others let you design the actual login pages, signup forms, and member areas.
  • Connecting the two: The website builder communicates with your Airtable database to:
    • Check if a user's login information is correct.
    • Create new user accounts during signup.
    • Show content only to logged-in members.

Benefits:

• User-friendly interface: Website builders offer more visual tools for creating a great login experience.
  • Security: Properly implemented, this can be more secure than just using forms within Airtable.
  • Customization: You have more control over the look and feel of your signup/login areas.