1879 4
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mollie_Turbak
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello! I am trying to figure out a way to link 1 column of records to multiple tables. For example, I have a master list of students on one table and have additional tables of info that I would like to link to the master list so that when I add or delete a student on the master list, it adds or deletes that record on all of the other tables. Is there a way to do this?

4 Replies 4

That is not possible, because Airtable has no automations built into the platform. Everything in Airtable is triggered manually by the user.

Automations are all handled by external tools, and partial automations can be handled by JavaScript.

You could create some JavaScript scripts to do this and then manually trigger those JavaScript scripts from within Airtable, but they wouldn’t run automatically based on adding or deleting students.

If you wanted to fully automate this process, you would need to turn to On2Air: Actions, which works in conjunction with Zapier. On2Air Actions is the only tool available which triggers automations based on deleting records.

If you don’t care about the deletion of records, you could turn to Integromat, which I consider to be the vastly-superior platform to Zapier.

p.s. If you have a budget for your project and you’re looking to hire an expert Airtable consultant to help you out with this project, feel free to send me a private message! :slightly_smiling_face:

Welcome to the community, @Mollie_Turbak! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: If you really want a multiple-table solution, then @ScottWorld has great ideas. However, tracking different info for the same students across multiple tables isn’t very efficient. I suggest putting everything into a single table, and using filtered views to control what’s seen at a given time.