Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Phillip_Silk-Ne
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am new to Airtable and Formulas

I saw a post by Florian_Kleinicke

Who said he had managed something similar, could someone please explain how I use the formula below.

DATETIME_DIFF(DATETIME_FORMAT({Birthday},‘MM-DD’),DATETIME_FORMAT(TODAY(),‘MM-DD’),‘days’)

My problem (which is likely is also a problem here) is that TODAY() won’t update on its own. It stays the same for a while.
Is there a solution to that problem?
I’m using automations to send an email, once the computed difference hits 0.

Ah I just came um with a solution, that might circumvent that problem. I can compute the birthday
DATETIME_PARSE(DATETIME_FORMAT({Birthday},‘MM-DD’),‘MM-DD’)

12 Replies 12

Hi @Phillip_Silk-Neilsen ,

Formulas is not yet my great trip,
but it seems to me that this post

could help you to achieve your goal, with or without formula.

olπ

@Olpy_Acaflo

what do you mean computed difference hits 0?
executive summary email will not do as you have to create a calendar base which is separate from my CRM base.

PSN

Try this:

DATETIME_FORMAT(Birthday, "MMDD") = DATETIME_FORMAT(TODAY(), "MMDD")

That will output a 1 when the month and date of the birthday match the current day, and a 0 at all other times. It’s worth noting, though, that TODAY() is based on the current date in GMT, not your local timezone. Depending on where you live, there will probably be some crossover, but it’s going to change at a time other than midnight in your local timezone unless you also live in GMT.

One way around that is to use NOW() instead, and wrap that in SET_TIMEZONE() to force it to your local timezone before formatting. Here’s an example using my local timezone:

DATETIME_FORMAT(Birthday, "MMDD") = DATETIME_FORMAT(SET_TIMEZONE(NOW(), "America/Los_Angeles"), "MMDD")

You can find other timezone specifiers here:

@Justin_Barrett

Thank you for this, just worked out where to put it

Phillip