Help

Re: How do I change values of several fields (all linked to one table) with values from another table

817 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nick_Martin
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there,

I am a complete novice.

I have a billing table with several procedure code fields, all of which are linked to a procedure code table from which they can be selected.

I would like to build a macro where a type of surgical procedure (a surgical procedure may have one or more procedure codes) can be selected from a field in the billing table. the selection field contains the name of a surgical procedure and is linked with a templates table which contains the procedure name as the primary key with it’s corresponding procedure codes (the procedure code fields also are linked to the procedure code table.

The aim is to improve billing ease and coding consistency.

I really hope that there is a solution to this (knowing me, it is probably embarrassingly straightforward) - if there is code involved, I would be grateful if someone could write me an example.

Thanks much,

Nick

7 Replies 7

Let me know if I’m understanding your base structure correctly.

[Billing]

• {Link to [Procedure Code]}* (multiple?)
  • {Link to [Surgical Procedure Templates]}
    [Procedure Code]
  • {Link from [Billing]}
  • {Link from [Surgical Procedure Templates]}
    [Surgical Procedure Templates]
  • {Link from [Billing]}
  • {Link to [Procedure Code]}

If this is correct, and I’m understanding your questions correctly, you want it so that when you select a Surgical Procedure in the Billing table, the corresponding Procedure Codes will populate in the Billing table?

If that’s the case, it seems like you could just add some Lookup/Rollup fields that pull the Procedure Codes from the Surgical Procedure entry?

However, if it’s more complicated than that, you might need to create an example base so people can better understand what you’re asking.