Help

This Product Ideas board is currently undergoing updates, but please continue to submit your ideas.

Phone Number Format "CLICK TO CALL" option on Web App

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RnJ
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

It would be nice if Airtable added a “click to call” formatting for phone numbers. That way if you use Skype/Teams or another service you can simply click the phone number you want to call. The mobile app allows it, so not sure why we can’t have on web app.

29 Comments
Bill_French
17 - Neptune
17 - Neptune

I believe the tel protocol works in an Airtable URL field. But, the ability of a computer to actually dial from a tel-based URL is independent, of course, of the use of this protocol in web pages (such as Airtable).

I’m not a VoIP expert at all, but I think if the browser has a pathway to an installed SIP phone such as that provided in Apple’s continuity features, Airtable tel protocol links should work.

The reason is simple - the mobile app is running in the context of a device that is a phone, whereas, the same cannot be assumed for laptops and desktops. As such, your browser is not able to interpret such abilities and provide that feature.

RnJ
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

Thanks for explanation Bill. How did you get the Tel Protocol to link on your example?

I have tried using the following formula to convert telephone format to “tel:+##########” however it is still not clickable.

CONCATENATE(“tel:+”,SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE(SUBSTITUTE({Mobile Phone},"(",""),")",""),"-","")," “,”"))

Did you have to set the field to URL and manually enter the number? If so, that would be to much work for how many numbers we have.

Thanks again.

Bill_French
17 - Neptune
17 - Neptune

Yes - that’s exactly how I did it. I’m not sure if you can use a formula field to mimic this behavior, but I suppose you could use the API to populate clickable tel fields.

Justin_Barrett