Help

Re: Get external data via an Airtable formula?

2993 7
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Michel_Billiau
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi,
I’m new to Airtable programming, so I apologize if this is obvious for the most of you…
Is it possible to directly retrieve external data from another website (through their API) ?
I’m working on a personal movie db, and it would be nice, that if I give in a column the unique IMDB id, it will get me the IMDB rating automatically in another column ?
If not possible via Formula, how should I proceed ?
Thx for any helpfull reply

14 Replies 14

There is a rich environment of SaaS integration services out there. Two of the ones most frequently mentioned here are Zapier and Integromat — but if you wanted, you could spend the rest of 2019 doing nothing but evaluating competing options. Each has its own constellation of strengths and weaknesses: price, UI/UX, number of canned integrations, quality of documentation, polling cycle, and the like. Most work the same way: By providing pre-packaged endpoint integrations — for instance, to Airtable on one end and IMDB on the other, with both linked to a common data abstraction in the middle — and then allowing you to pass data through the central abstract data layer in the middle so as to complete the circuit.

I’ve never tried to integrate with IMDB, so I don’t know which services support that end-point. However, building a simple interface between Airtable and another supported site — and I’ve integrated with a number of Google services, the US Postal Service, and others — is typically less than an hour’s work the first time around.

Michel_Billiau
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Thank You W. for your clarification.