5789 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
creativerenz
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I'm new to Airtable and looking to see if this will be a good platform to use.

I created an Excel file that has a lot of information, so, based on the rows selected by a user, I want it to export out separate word documents based on those rows only and the word document would include the information from each column and that word document would be company branded. 

Hopefully, my question makes sense,

Is that possible?

7 Replies 7
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Yes, that is one of the popular uses for Airtable.

An entire record (i.e. row) can have its data sent to Microsoft Word and have a document created based on the information in that document.

However, Airtable can't do this natively. You would need to use an external tool, such as Make (which is a low-code automation & integration tool), which integrates with hundreds of document creation apps — including Microsoft Word and Google Docs.

You can also use document creation apps like DocuMint or DocsAutomator.

These tools can be a little bit time-consuming to setup if you've never used them before, so if you have a budget for your project and you’d like to hire an expert Airtable consultant to help you create this, please feel free to contact me through my website: Airtable consulting — ScottWorld

MS Word has a native Mail Merge function that works well with MS Excel. Despite the name, Mail Merge works well for longer documents and reports, not just mass mailings.

If you want to use On2Air Docs (an excellent tool!), I believe that the template needs to be a Google Doc, even if the final format is MS Word. So if you need to start with an MS Word template, you might need a different method.

Another consideration is whether your files already exist in the cloud, or if they are only available on your local computer. If they are only on your local computer, that limits your choices.