Help

Re: Scripting help - add related record to a field that already has related records

Solved
Jump to Solution
1535 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cori_parrish1
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

i am using a step in an automation that i’m hoping will allow me to add a related record to a field that already has related records in it. the prior steps in the automation are picking out which record i want the script done to.

i am brand new to scripting, so i’m guessing it’s something obvious. i got this from the documentation here: Airtable Scripting

table.updateRecordAsync(record, {
‘Which trainings?’: [
…record.getCellValue(‘Which trainings?’),
{ id: newTraining }]
});

when i test the step, it says the field “Which trainings?” can’t accept the provided value & when i ask it to show me what it got from the step above, it shows me an empty set.

the newTraining value is the record id of the related record i want to add to the field.

any help is appreciated!!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

@cori_parrish1

Use @JonathanBowen’s screenshot as a general guide above, but note that:

• The new value has to go first, not last. Otherwise it will fail if there was nothing already in the field, due to the presence of a comma.

• The record ID used for updating needs to be a single record ID, not a list of ID’s. Airtable can only update a single record, not multiple records.

• While you can use record ID values for the linked record field, you can also use primary field values as well.

See Solution in Thread

11 Replies 11

I don’t think you need a script for this.

You’re just trying to append a new linked record to a linked record field that already has linked records in it?

What you can do is start by inserting the new linked record data into the field, then type a comma, and then insert the linked record field itself.

That will append the new linked record data to what is already in the field.

cori_parrish1