726 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mike_P
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I’m an old Oracle DBA. My first day using Airtable and I like it already. Here’s my issue.

I’ve been building my base creating tables and demo data to test my design. When linking tables I included the fields that would provide context in helping me select the right record to link. Looking back, I should have included a few more link fields to give my grids/views better context as well. How can I add these now without dropping/recreating these links and all my data?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Mike P.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

FYI, @Mike_P, just so you’re prepared for the huge differences between Oracle and Airtable, Airtable is a much more “simplistic” database program with almost NO automatic linking of records between tables.

And you cannot choose which fields you want to create linked relationships between. Every linked relationship is always a relationship to the record itself — not a specific field value in the record.

What you just experienced by converting a text field into a “linked record” field is one of the very few times when Airtable will “automatically” link records between tables for you. And that was just a “one time only” automatic linking during the conversion process.

But the vast majority of the time, all linked records must be explicitly & manually chosen by the user.

As I mentioned above, you’ll notice that all linked relationships ALWAYS link to the primary field in the other table. Meaning that you are always linking to an entire record, not a field value in that record.