Help

Adding Specific Tasks from a Task Template through Scripting app?

Topic Labels: Scripting extentions
524 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jessica_Pena
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hello out there, I am not experienced in writing code and I am hoping that someone can help me make a workflow dream come true! I’ll do my best to explain what the goal is below, but please let me know if it is unclear.

In my Program Management base, I recently followed this example to add tasks from a Task Template table to specific projects, just copying/pasting the code: https://www.airscript.dev/2020/10/04/generating-tasks-for-projects

The code copies every task from the Task Template table into the project. What I am hoping for help with is: We have several different project types, each that involves its own set of tasks. Is there a way for me to add to the above code so that I can pick a specific set of tasks in the Task Template table, based on an identifier? Currently, to separate out which project types that tasks are associated with in the Task Template table, I have a ‘multiple select’ field that includes types like Solo Exhibition, Juried Exhibition, Traveling Exhibition, etc. I chose multiple select because there are some tasks that fall under multiple project types. Ideally, this would be the situation:

• I can have different templates within my Task Template table, denoted with each task being assigned to a ‘Project Type’ (multiple select field because some tasks fall under multiple project types)
  • In my Projects table, when a project record is created, it is assigned to a ‘Project Type’ (single select field that contains the same options as the multiple select field options in the Task Template table)
  • When I run my scripting app, the user selects the project they wish to add tasks to, and (here is where I would like for things to go differently…)