Help

Re: updateRecordAsync in Multiple Select - Failed schema validation and field is readonly

811 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Martin_Sautter
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hey everyone,

I am new to airtable scripting and try to update records in a multiple select field (Users) the same way I do in a single select field (Workstation).

It works in the singleselect but for the multipleselect I get the following error message:

"j: Error: Failed schema validation: must be an array at main on line 19"

As far as I can tell the root as well as my value are both arrays.

Also the multiple select field appears to be in readonly and I cant figure out why.

Here is my code. I really appreciate some help.

Thank in advance.

let table = base.getTable("Bookings - FoxOMS"); let query = await table.selectRecordsAsync({fields:["Location"]});

var myString = new String();
var myStringArray = new Array();

for (let record of query.records) {

myString = record.getCellValueAsString("Location");
myStringArray = myString.split(",");

if(!myStringArray[0].includes("Edit")){ 
    myStringArray.unshift("No Workstation selected");     
}

await table.updateRecordAsync(record.id, {“Workstation”:{name:myStringArray[0]}});
await table.updateRecordAsync(record.id, {“Users”:{name:myStringArray[1]}});
}

3 Replies 3

Hi @Martin_Sautter - as per the error, the value of the multi-select you want to update must be an array of objects (even if you only want to update to a single value). So your line 19 should be something like this:

await table.updateRecordAsync(record.id, {'Users': [{name: myStringArray[1]}] })

There’s a mix of square and curly brackets so for clarity, you want this:

[{name: myStringArray[1]}]

instead of this:

{name: myStringArray[1]}