Help

Re: Create Table that is an aggregation of another table (similar to group by)

Solved
Jump to Solution
1696 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
crankbit
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hey everyone,

I am fairly new to Airtable so I hope it's not too nooby of a question.

I am intending to create a fact table with invoices. Now I would simply like to aggregate the value for each client. The only way I found is the "group" feature, however this appears to me as just being a visual filter. In any case I need both the individual table as well as the grouped overview.

Also I found that I can link records to each other but the actual grouping column is a formula. As soon as I select it as lookup, that is breaking the formula.

How can I possibly achieve that?

Kind regards,

Marcel

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Ahh hmm, check out this base

Screenshot 2023-05-05 at 1.35.18 AM.png

Screenshot 2023-05-05 at 1.35.21 AM.png

The idea is to create a table where each record represents a single email + a step, and then you can add a rollup field there which should get you what you want I think?

See Solution in Thread

8 Replies 8

Do you have a table that contains all your clients that's linked to your "Invoices" table?  If so, you can create a rollup field in your "Clients" table with "SUM(values)" to get the values for each client.  If you don't have a "Clients" table, I highly recommend setting one up and trying this out

I'm not too sure what you mean by the lookup breaking the formula, sorry.  Could you provide some screenshots of the problem you're facing?

IbrahimAlfaraj

To aggregate values from different tables you'll need to checkout the "rollup" field type! It's a actual field type 😉

Hope this helps 

Hey Adam, thanks for your response!

crankbit_0-1683214446925.png