620 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shari_dorenkamp
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am new to airtable and trying to complete a table that has a single select choice in column A for make of the car and I want to have a single select choice in Column B that is contingent on the choice made in Column A…i.e. If Ford is chosen in Column A, then the only choices that are present to you in Column B are Explorer, Escape, Expedition, Fusion, Mustang, Thunderbird. But if your choice in Column A is Mercedes then the choices you have to choose from in column B are C Class, E Class S Class, or SUV, etc

thanks shari

5 Replies 5

Welcome to the community, @shari_dorenkamp!

You’re looking for what is sometimes called a “conditional value list” or a “dynamic value list”.

Unfortunately, that isn’t a built-in feature of Airtable, although I would recommend adding it as a feature request in the #show-and-tell:product-suggestions category.

However, there is a workaround that you can use to create the behavior that you’re looking for — but it depends on only one person creating new records at a time:

You could probably also create this same functionality (without the one-person limitation) by creating a custom JavaScript for these purposes.

Hope this helps!

Thank You! I am not a computer person and this helps because now I can now stop looking for the answer:)

Ha, you’re welcome! :slightly_smiling_face:

If you have a budget for your project and you need to hire a computer person to help you implement this solution, that’s what I do for people! I am expert Airtable developer. Feel free to send me a private message or contact me through my website at ScottWorld.com.

Question…can you link data in a separate base in the same workspace? If so could I great a new base that contains the cars make and model and then link the approproate columns back into my original table?