965 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Philip_Marsh
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

First of all, I am a beginner at creating formulas. I only have experience with with basic math formulas.

I am trying to create a field that show how long a product was on the market. I have two fields, purchase date and sales date. Purchase is the day we bought the items, Sales date is the date we sold it.

I used the datetime_diff formula but I am getting NaN on items that have not sold yet. How do I create a formula that would show days on market for items that have not sold yet. In other words, the items that have been on market for 30 days would show 31 days tomorrow, 32 days the next day, and so on…

Is a formula like that possible? If not, what are my options to remove the NaN appearing in the field?

3 Replies 3

Hey @Philip_Marsh! Welcome in!

Here is my revised version of your formula:

IF(
    AND(
        {Date Purchased},
        {Date Sold}
    ),
    ABS(
        DATETIME_DIFF(
            {Date Purchased},
            {Date Sold},
            'days'
        )
    ) & ' Days',
    IF(
        AND(
            {Date Purchased} = 0,
            {Date Sold} = 0
        ),
        '',
        IF(
            AND(
                {Date Purchased},
                {Date Sold} = 0
            ),
            'Pending Sale',
            IF(
                AND(
                    {Date Purchased} = 0,
                    {Date Sold}
                ),
                "⚠ Missing Purchase Date!"
            )
        )
    )
)

And here’s what it looks like in production:

NaN functionally means ‘Not a number’.
So your original DATETIME_DIFF formula was working if all values were provided, however, when you were missing a parameter (one of the dates), then the formula didn’t have anything to return.
Due to the nature of date/time functions, it returned a NaN value instead of just being blank.

In the formula I wrote above, here’s what happens…