1316 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Koby_Kenney
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I’m new to Airtable and have been exploring it as a possible equipment inventory solution. I have a primary table called ‘Inventory’ within a base. Among the fields listed there are ‘Manufacturer’ and ‘Model,’ as well as ‘Item Number.’ ‘Item Number’ is a linked field, linking to a second table titled ‘Catalog Items’ which includes ‘Manufacturer’ and ‘Model’ fields and is based on an import from a separate database we use for planning.

image.png

I would ideally like users in the field to be able to enter ‘Manufacturer’ and ‘Model’ manually OR to be able to select an ‘Item Number’ and have that data populate from the ‘Catalog Items’ table to the ‘Manufacturer’ and ‘Model’ fields in the ‘Inventory’ table.

Much less importantly, if the field user populates the ‘Manufacturer’ and ‘Model’ fields in the ‘Inventory’ table and then decides to make a new ‘Item Number’ to add to that field, is there a way to have those fields populate back into the ‘Catalog Items’ table?

The goal is to not have folks in the field touch anything but the ‘Inventory’ table. I appreciate your help and hope that the question is not terribly redundant.

2 Replies 2

Airtable (and any database software, really) always deals best with consistent data structures and methods for inputting that data. What you want to do is allow for an inconsistent data structure (2 different possible ways for defining the Manufacturer/Model of an Inventory item) – this is definitely possible, but it is going to be a little bit more messy by requiring extra fields.

Let’s deal with pulling in Manu. and Mod. from the Catalog Items table automatically first.