7027 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ambroise_Dhenai
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

I’m fairly new to AirTable and I’m trying to get a peak of all the possibility this tool has to offer.

I’m thinking about migrating an app, which is currently configured using a JSON format, to AirTable. The goal is to allow my teammates to see/update the data. Also, I saw there are tons of possibilities with AirTable and I’m also looking for creating forms and user interfaces eventually. Basically, AirTable may replace the backoffice I’m supposed to build.

But I have a few questions about how I should proceed, and I hope I can get some advices here! :slightly_smiling_face:

JSON to AirTable

AirTable doesn’t support JSON format. Therefore, I’ll convert JSON to CSV and then import the CSV into AirTable.

But I wonder how I should convert those data to be efficient in AirTable and allow proper usage using JavaScript when fetching the records later on, through the API.

Here is my data structure:

[
  {
    "state": "active",
    "name": "name",
    "label": "Label",
    "logo": {
      "url": "url-img",
      "link": {
        "url": "url-webpage",
        "target": "_blank"
      },
      "title": "Title",
      "width": "1293px",
      "height": "298px",
      "alt": "Logo X"
    }
]

This gets converted in CSV as follow, using the dot . as depth separator:

"state","name","label","logo.url","logo.link.url","logo.link.target","logo.title","logo.width","logo.height","logo.alt"

Is it the recommended way to handle nested fields?

I could also use another table to store the logo, but I don’t think that’s necessary because it’s a 1-1 relationship.
And I’d still have nested field with logo.link.url so it wouldn’t fix the issue either.

Selecting the primary field when importing