Help

Re: How to get data in one cell in one table, to populate another cell in another table

3741 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nick_Conneff
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi, i’m just getting started here, unfortunately can’t get it to do the one thing i really need it to do, which seems straightforward enough, but alas no…

Quite simply i want the data in one cell in one table to populate another cell in another table. With a spreadsheet id just use an =sheet+cell formula. I’ve looked at (and tried without success) ‘look up’ and ‘link’, but i can’t get it to work.

It has to be info from a specific cell, i don’t want the info from the whole field (not that i can get it do that either). For example, i might want to get the info from Table 1, field 5, line 3 reproduced in Table 2, field 5, line 6.

Contacted support 3 or 4 days ago, no reply, which does not bode well…

Thanks

15 Replies 15

Databases work different than you describe, in a more structured way. I recommend you to read the getting started guide.

If you have Events table and Venues table, you can relate them using a Linked Record field (events are celebrated in venues). Then you can show the address of the venue in the event record, for instance, with a Lookup field.

In a database you have Entities (items of the same type), represented by tables here. This elements have Properties, represented by fields here. These Entities may have relationships, that you can make with Linked Record field here. That is the first step to work with data from several tables at once. But you have to stop thinking on cells, columns, rows, etc.

Nick_Conneff

Appreciate you taking the time to post and explain. After some perseverance (and much time), i’m beginning to get the picture you’re painting.