Help

Re: Question about the types of people on here?

765 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alson
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

It seems like everyone is a consultant on here, I am a student myself, I am slightly interested in becoming a consultant upon graduation, so was wondering why there are so many consultants using airtable? How, why etc… do you use it as a consultants?

5 Replies 5

I didn’t start out seeking be a consultant. I just wanted to use Airtable to get more organized. However, I like solving problems, and I like helping other people solve problems, and after a while of learning Airtable and helping with issues here in the community, people started asking for my help on the side. I’m not pushing the Airtable consulting side much, in part because I’m about to start a new full-time job in just under a week that will definitely keep me hopping, but I enjoy squeezing it in where I’m able.

As far as how I use Airtable as a consultant (aside from the direct consulting of using the software), I mainly use it for invoicing and project/task management.

This is a biased conclusion and tilted toward your assertion for many reasons. Let’s probe the true nature of your observation with basic economics.

• When typical business users encounter problems, they look for help in the forum. That help typically comes from – wait for it – consultants who are trying to impress future clients. :winking_face: You don’t hear about all the successes that users are able to achieve without any forum help whatsoever. Ergo, the vast base of conversations is heavily tilted by responses from consultants because all the stuff that works well is rarely discussed here.

• Consultants are more conversational because they are looking for work. This results in a high incidence of visibility in the forum by people who build systems as opposed to people who are simply Airtable customers and enjoy the delightful user interface and features.