Help

Upcoming database upgrades. to improve our reliability at 03:30 UTC on Feb. 25 / 7:30pm PT on Feb. 24. Some users may briefly experience slow load times or error messages. Learn more here

Shifting Users from Workspace Level Sharing to Base Level Sharing

Topic Labels: Collaboration
Solved
Jump to Solution
381 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I’m working with a group that has users shared at the Workspace level but now what’s to remove them from the Workspace level and share them on individual bases.

I was surprised to find that users who are shared at the Workspace level can’t be shared as the Base level. Trying to do so creates an alert message that says “this user is already shared on this base.”

Is it possible to shift users from Workspace to Base level access without first removing them from the Workspace and then adding them to the Base?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

You cannot add a workspace user to an individual base in the workspace unless you are upgrading the user’s permissions.

You can remove the person from the workspace, and then add the person to the individual bases. The person would temporarily loose access to the bases.

Or you can downgrade the person to read only, then add the person to the base as an editor, and then go back and remove the person from the workspace. The person would temporarily loose edit access to the base but could still see the base.

Also note that the workspace would disappear from the user’s account, and the base would then appear under the “shared bases” section.

See Solution in Thread

2 Replies 2

You cannot add a workspace user to an individual base in the workspace unless you are upgrading the user’s permissions.

You can remove the person from the workspace, and then add the person to the individual bases. The person would temporarily loose access to the bases.

Or you can downgrade the person to read only, then add the person to the base as an editor, and then go back and remove the person from the workspace. The person would temporarily loose edit access to the base but could still see the base.

Also note that the workspace would disappear from the user’s account, and the base would then appear under the “shared bases” section.

Thanks so much for this post. Really appreciate it.