cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jonnow_bl
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi,

I'm new to AirTable and trying to work out if this is possible. I'm creating a form to collect data on various buildings and the facilities they have within them. I've got a starting list of facilities that I'm going to use a multi-select list for, with a checkbox option for other. 

If "Other" is checked I'll then show a single line text field for the data collector to add another item. However, there could be many items to add. Is it possible to keep adding single line fields on an ad-hoc basis.

For example in my basic list I have:

• Printers
  • Wifi
  • Water fountain

The data collector finds that building A also has:

• Disabled access
  • Scanners
  • Computer lab
  • Café

These 4 extra items also need to be added during the data collection and so would need 4 new text inputs to be added. 

Is it possible for the user to dynamically add text inputs to a form?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TheTimeSavingCo
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Nope, you can't dynamically add text inputs to a form.  Couldn't we just use a multi line text field for this though?  What're you doing to the data afterwards that you need it to be in single fields?

See Solution in Thread

5 Replies 5
jonnow_bl

To provide a little more context I think what I really want is something like a checklist in Trello. Where Wifi, Wheelchair access and bookable PCs are a base set of data, and the data collector could continue to add items if needed.

dynamic checklist.PNG

This would be pretty tricky to do with Airtable's form. You could create a linked record field, but it only lets you link to existing records that are already in the linked table.