709 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
AstralLiving
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello AirTable community - I am very new to AirTable and learning the ropes. I have attempted to get a clear answer on this within the regular knowledgebase but cannot find it.

I have a Jira Cloud project, and I am exploring using AirTable with the goal to make it easier for my team to navigate work without needing to deal with Jira's UI. I suspect AirTable could be a better experience for them to check their own work, group work in different ways, and ultimately have the "spreadsheet-like" experience they tend to prefer.

To accomplish my use case, I need my team to be able to update their tickets from AirTable. I need my team team to edit Assignee, Priority, Status, Release, and sometimes even Summary or Description of a ticket from AirTable or else they won't be able to "avoid Jira completely" like I am hoping I can let them do with this solution.

Right now I get the following error whenever trying to edit a field: 

• You don't have permission to edit synced records in this table.  
  • See attached screenshot for a visual example.

My Jira Cloud integration was easy to do, and went through based on my Jira account, which is an Admin account on our Jira Cloud instance. I am an Owner of the AirTable workspace this is integrated into.

Thanks for any advice you can offer.

2023-07-11 - Table Sync Permission Issue (Redacted).png

3 Replies 3

You can't edit synced tables I'm afraid.  It's possible to do this with a workaround, but it would be somewhat tedious to set up, eat up a lot of automations, and still might not be what you're looking for. 

You'll need to:
1. Manually create a field per field you want your users to be able to update
2. Have an automation that'll trigger whenever a record gets updated to paste the synced field values into the manually created fields